Friday, June 19, 2015

Inside Out - Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera interview

Two weeks ago, I had the chance to meet with Inside Out director Pete Docter and producer Jonas Rivera, and ask them a few questions about the film! They were both fun, casual people, and it was enjoyable to talk with them, admittedly despite my nervousness.

I have the interview audio below, and am willing to type it up in its entirety if anyone would like.

They began by discussing the art and animation of Monsters Inc., and that's where the audio picks up.

Inside Out (film)

Inside Out, Pixar Animation Studios, Pete Docter, Jonas Rivera

Synopsis: After young Riley is uprooted from her Midwest life and moved to San Francisco, her emotions - Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness - conflict on how best to navigate a new city, house and school.

My Thoughts: From the minds of those who birthed many of the original Pixar hits, comes this window into another new world, the mind. In classic Pixar tradition, Inside Out shows us something we're both familiar with, but also something we've never seen before. Also like its classic predecessors, this film makes us laugh, cry, recall childhood, and is centered around family.

There is very little I can criticize about this film. The voices of emotion were amazing, chosen perfectly. With animation, there's no contest, as usual. The script was worked very well, with humor fitting both children and adults. The characters were fun and quite memorable, and Michael Giacchino's score was perfect! Inside Out, along with Monsters University, establishes another rise in Pixar Animation Studio's career after Cars 2 and Brave. Go see it, take the whole family.

*I was given early access to see this film by Walt Disney/Pixar Studios. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions here are my own.*

My Rating: 10 stars

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Tomorrowland (film)

Tomorrowland, Walt Disney Studios, Brad Bird, Damon Lindelof

Synopsis: Bound by a shared destiny, a teen bursting with scientific curiosity and a former boy-genius inventor embark on a mission to unearth the secrets of a place somewhere in time and space that exists in their collective memory.

My thoughts: Tomorrowland was fun to watch, for the first hour. It had promised extremely imaginative ideas, creative inventions, and the wonder of it all. In the first hour, all of those were there, but it all fell flat in the second half. Wonder and excitement were exchanged for political/environmental intrigue and concern, That was certainly something we've seen a lot before. I came to see something new, ingenious, and inspiring. What I saw were some really nifty gadgets and ideas leading up to a possibly huge one, then all I got was environmental warnings and action with a few explosions. But I digress on that until later.

The acting was fairly good! George Clooney did quite well, as expected, Hugh Laurie was fantastic though not very memorable. Raffey Cassidy did decently, I enjoyed her calm and collected role. Britt Robertson started out promising, but her character devolved as the film sped on. Keegan-Michael Key's appearance was unexpected, but comical indeed. I laughed as I heard the Wookiee call in the background of his action scene (it's worth listening for).

Speaking of humor, Bird gave it a good successful attempt in the first half. However, for me, the funniest moment may not have been intentional, but I believe it was. After Frank (Clooney) and Casey (Robertson) meet up with Athena (Cassidy), all three are in the vehicle. Athena, looking as if she is 12, is the one driving, with the teenage Casey in the middle and the middle-aged Frank in the passenger seat. The scene shows this for at least 10 seconds without dialogue, and I couldn't help but laugh. From this point on, though, humor didn't break through as in the first half.

--SPOILER ALERT--  From here until the concluding statement, I'll be discussing plot details that would likely ruin the film's surprises for you. You have been warned.

The Eiffel Tower plays an unexpected role in the film, one that I'm glad I didn't notice occur in the trailer. When the three travelers need to return to Tomorrowland, most gates have been shut. One option is left open to them, however, and that is where the Tower comes in. A memorial exhibit to inventors rests atop the Tower, and it leads to a hidden secret: a rocket buried underneath. The Tower splits apart into a launch pad, and they blast off in the rocket. This whole sequence seemed very National Treasure-ish, and almost unnecessary. The only reason I support it, sans the over-the-top theatrics, is that it does something very important to the topic of the film. It honors past inventors. The rest of the film is all about the future, unnamed newcomers, what could be. But they took at least a little bit of time honoring those who got us to where we are. And that, I applaud, even if it were only a few minutes of the total screentime.

The ending plot, however, was half-baked. It could have used more pre-production scrutiny, and some post- as well. For example, Casey's relationship with her father was hardly there, mostly implied. She looked to him as great inspiration, but we saw hardly any of that. And where was her mother? Her father wore a wedding ring, but I don't remember any explanation. Also, near the end of the film, wind blows her father's cap off her head, and it never appears again, despite its importance to her. This might be because she later brought her father to Tomorrowland, and had him in the flesh, rather than an extension of him, but still. Make that hat scene useful.

Governer Nicks' demise was also not thought through as well. When Athena self-destructs, everyone was fully aware it was going to happen, and where it was going to happen. The Monitor above them all is rocked with an explosion, and begins to plummet. Suddenly, everyone must scramble to get away, even though they knew this was coming. Even if the whole Monitor wasn't going to fall, debris from the explosion would. The reason they didn't have Casey get out of the way like any sensible person who knew this would be crashing down on them in a few minutes if they didn't, is this: Nicks was trapped down there, and having Casey leave the premises prematurely would make his death look far too cold-hearted. They would be leaving him there knowing he would die, and not help him. But if she's running for her life, with seconds to spare, that suddenly makes it okay to leave the villain behind. They could have come up with a far better demise, one that made more sense at least. And how did she have enough time to get clear anyway? The whole platform was crushed by that thing, and she didn't start running until it had fallen for 5 seconds. But I digress once more.


Given Brad Bird's directorial career, this isn't a highlight of his. It was quite imaginative, but needed a lot more development in the second half. It devolved from an inspiring showcase of creative ideas and futuristic inventions to environmental concern and flying punches. We've seen the latter two a lot already, I wish their focus was fully set on tomorrow, and not themes we've seen explored a thousand times already.

When it comes to parental guidance on this film, there are some minimally violent scenes, sans blood and disturbing sights. A few instances of language appear, though. Nothing sexually inappropriate occurs or is hinted at.

I was given early access to see the film by Walt Disney Studios. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions here are my own.

My rating: 6 stars

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Digger (graphic novel)

Digger, Ursula Vernon, Sofawolf Press, Graphic Novel/Webcomic, 850 pages, November 15, 2013. 

Synopsis: Digger Is a story about a wombat.

More specifically, it is a story by author and artist Ursula Vernon about a particularly no-nonsense wombat who finds herself stuck on the wrong end of a one-way tunnel in a strange land where nonsense seems to be the specialty. Now, with the help of a talking statue of a god, an outcast hyena, a shadow-being of indeterminate origin, and an oracular slug she seeks to find out where she is and how to go about getting back to her Warren.

My thoughts: If you've not heard of Digger already, don't be daunted by the page count. This is due to it being a webcomic, but I promise it has a definite beginning and end. If you're like me, you'll wish there were another 850 pages once you've concluded it. But I'm getting ahead of myself.

Digger is an epic, in essence. It details the adventure of the titular wombat "Digger-of-Unnecessarily-Convoluted-Tunnels", or Digger for short. Interestingly, Ursula Vernon began it with the intention of scrapping it after a few pages. She warned readers to not become attached, but few could help it, not even her. Digger was a charming character, despite her gruff and practical attitude. She was snarky and knew how to turn a phrase. Vernon's strength in characters reveals itself quickly. Digger, Ed, Grim-Eyes, Bone-Mother, and many other adventurers endear themselves to the reader, and I was extremely sad to say farewell.

In 2012, Digger won a Hugo Award for the Best Graphic Story, which independent stories such as this webcomic hardly win. There is good reason for this choice, though. With such a large scope, and writing as she went, Vernon did a magnificent job of tying themes together and wrapping up the entire story well. Such themes include divine status, logic, sense & order, and traditions.

The graphic style that Vernon draws is beautiful in its own way. Inspired by other dramatic, monochrome artists such as Jeff Smith (Bone), she prefers sketch-like drawings, but in an earthy way. This works very well, and I loved the artwork. She rendered her Characters well, and I loved their expressions.

These points aside, Vernon still had the challenge of making this world at least somewhat relatable. It's acceptable to write a world filled with nonsense, but that gets out of hand quickly and loses appeal. Digger was the shining light of reason for us. She was in the same position we were: stranded in a foreign land where many strange things occur. She must make sense of things, as wombats are fond of doing, and thus arranges the world in a way we can understand. As time goes on, the story makes complete sense after all. What makes it doubly as effective is that all characters residing there don't regard it as nonsense. They already understand, it's natural to them. This helps to endear them to readers, and sets up for communicating the great epic that takes place.

There is reason behind my review being vague on plot details, and it is that you should come across everything for the first time when reading Digger. It's safe for all ages, but I would say that older readers (16+) would have a better grasp on what's happening. If you enjoy graphic novels and/or heroic stories, please make time to read this. You will be glad you did, in my opinion. There is the free webcomic online, and also print editions of the episodes and an omnibus.

My rating: 5 stars

Read Digger online
Buy the Omnibus

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

On the recent absence

Please forgive me for not updating Heavenward Reviews for the past few weeks. The end of the semester demanded my attention, and plans for getting home as well. Now it's the holidays, so this coming Friday I should have a new review up. If you're reading this, thank you for sticking with me.


Friday, November 28, 2014

ibb & obb (video game)

ibb & obb, Sparpweed, Puzzle Platformer, Indie, Co-op, May 26, 2014.

Synopsis: ibb & obb is a two player cooperative game set in a puzzle filled world where gravity goes both up and down. You can only succeed by working closely together. Find a friend for some true local co-op couch fun or match up online.

My thoughts: Are you looking for another fun puzzle game? As a fan of the genre myself, I can say I look often. This game stood out for it's art style, co-op, and simplicity.

When it comes to puzzle platformers, ibb & obb uses a recently popular mind-bending alteration on physics. Many of its peer platformers have also used dual or mirrored characters, but not quite in this same way. In those, you the player are able to control both. Here, each character must fend for himself, but also cooperate to succeed. It has taken cues from the co-op element of Portal, but is still self-contained.

While I typically don't enjoy platformers in the genre, this was an exception. Simplicity is key, and the developers executed it very well. It doesn't remain the same throughout, and there is clear progression in the art, but it's always minimal, clean, and fresh. The smooth dream-like artistry behind it, including the music, is excellent and I applaud it.

There is hardly any story, which is fine with this game, and what exists is only shown visually, and you are up to interpret it. It's not as integral, but makes for a neat dynamic if you think about it. I think this part could be developed further. While it's clean, and I like that, it's not overly progressed. It appears, and then goes nowhere. Because of this, it doesn't stick with you long after you play. It's good and lovely mental and cooperative exercise, but not much more.

The puzzle difficulty is variable, and you can choose to pursue more challenging ones that don't hinder you from the main drive. Co-op makes this a lot of fun, as you decipher these physics traps together. It's a good communication and team-building exercise also. It certainly delivers on mental puzzlers, and if you enjoy them, I recommend it to you.

My rating: 85/100

Official Site

Friday, November 21, 2014

Dear Esther (video game)

Dear Esther, The Chinese Room, Exploration, First-Person, Narrative, February 14, 2012.

Synopsis: Forget the normal rules of play; if nothing seems real here, it’s because it may just be all a delusion. What is the significance of the aerial -- What happened on the motorway -- is the island real or imagined -- who is Esther and why has she chosen to summon you here? The answers are out there, on the lost beach, the windswept cliffs and buried in the darkness of the tunnels beneath the island… Or then again, they may just not be, after all…

My thoughts: In recent years, there has been a notable rift in video game styles. Some excel, some flop, and some are financially successful despite their quality. This rift nearly always has to do with "story," which is integral to game success. Story is necessary to establish timeless association, connection with a game. This is why games with good story release well-received and remain well-received.

Now, story must be visually presented in a video game. Retro games prove that absolute best resolution isn't necessary for good story. At the same time, however, poor visual presentation will cloud and possibly ruin the story. They must be in tandem. Now to my point. Dear Esther provides both visuals and story in extremely fine beauty, and sets you free to explore it. Set against moody oceanic weather, open to explore the island, and surrounded by Jessica Curry's haunting, exquisite soundtrack, this is an experience you'll never forget. Storytelling comes in a whole new fashion here, and I absolutely loved it.

If you don't enjoy first-person exploration games, or narrative-driven games, this might not be your cup of tea, but I would suggest watching the trailer, and if you like what you see, please play. If not, the soundtrack is available separately, and is definitely worth listening to in full.

My only criticism of this game would be that it seems too short. I was finished in about 2 hours, and for some it would take just over an hour. There is new narrative to find by replaying, and I will definitely do it again soon, but I wanted to stay immersed in that world much longer.

There is no adult content of any sort, that I have run across or heard mention of, or violence. The only reason I'd suggest it for 16+ years is that anyone younger would have a difficult time understanding the story. I highly recommend this game.

My rating: 94/100

Official Site
Buy Dear Esther
Listen to the Dear Esther soundtrack

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Boxers & Saints (graphic novels)

Boxers & Saints, Gene Luen Yang, First Second, Graphic Novel, 512 pages, September 10, 2013.

Synopsis: In two volumes, Boxers & Saints tells two parallel stories. The first is of Little Bao, a Chinese peasant boy whose village is abused and plundered by Westerners claiming the role of missionaries. Little Bao, inspired by visions of the Chinese gods, joins a violent uprising against the Western interlopers. Against all odds, their grass-roots rebellion is successful.
But in the second volume, Yang lays out the opposite side of the conflict. A girl whose village has no place for her is taken in by Christian missionaries and finds, for the first time, a home with them. As the Boxer Rebellion gains momentum, Vibiana must decide whether to abandon her Christian friends or to commit herself fully to Christianity.

My thoughts: It is rare to find a story set in historical account in the fashion that Luen Yang presents. He drives to the heart of the Boxer Rebellion, the people. Specifically Little Bao, from his youth to where the rebellion begins. He explains what could incite such a group to take up arms, in the mere visual story. The visual art seems to be simple, but conveys a lot more than you would first suspect.

Clean lines, vibrant colors, and striking expressions may lead you to think that these novels were created for younger readers. And while they do appeal visually, the topic is a very serious one. Gene Luen Yang does not let the dramatic presentation get in the way. On the contrary, he uses it to drive the story. Chinese story is rooted in this presentation, including the puppet shows Little Bao loved as a child. The bright colors and exaggerated expressions pay homage to Chinese dramatic history. He uses this style to represent both sides, which I find interesting.

In the second volume, Luen Yang presents the other side of the rebellion: the victims. This is a valuable addition, balancing out the story as a whole. Neither side is completely virtuous in this story, and as such both sides had to be presented. In the second title, the similar visual style signifies something important. While Vibiana, the opposite protagonist, was a Christian, she was just as much Chinese. It did not remove her heritage, her association with her people, her country. This visual style, representing Chinese tradition, still applied to her. It was still her history.

In conclusion, Boxers & Saints presents a valuable window into a historical event many Americans are not well aware of, and what it means to exert influence rather than simply communicate. I recommend it to anyone interested in dramatic story, Christian ministry, or historical China.

My rating: 5 stars

Buy Boxers & Saints